Writing a book

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
sardinops_99

Writing a book

Post by sardinops_99 »

Dear all
I have been using Nisus as my main text editor since the mid-1990s and have always found it intuitive and powerful. I now have to write to book and since I have always heard Nisus touted as the long document editor, intend to use it. What I want to do is set up the document right from the beginning to avoid hassles later. It will have about 12 chapters with sections, ToC, bibliography, footnotes, index, no pics and be in English. Can anyone give me some pointers? In particular because I will be working on each of the chapters at once instead of consecutively I would like to be able to collapse/ open chapters so I don't have to scroll through the whole thing to navigate.
Thanks
Rod
exegete77

Re: Writing a book

Post by exegete77 »

Howdy. Wish you well on this. I don’t write books but longer papers. However, you might want to search the forums for Anne Cuneo, since she has written (and published) several books using NWP.
iMac 21.5” / MBP 13” Retina
Mac user since 1990
robertb

Post by robertb »

For my first book, a 140,000-word biography that will be published this fall, I wrote the rough draft in Scrivener. It uses index cards on a cork board for chapter titles and an outline of what the chapter contains. It's easy to rearrange the cards and to switch from the index card view to the writing view. Bookends was my reference manager; a Scrivener keystroke keystroke automatically inserts a Bookends code for the footnotes/endnotes.

After the rough draft, I exported the Scrivener version to Nisus for everything else: many more rewrites, formatting and tweaking the footnotes (Nisus works great with Bookends), preparing the index, the bibliography, and the table of contents. Nisus handles large files with aplomb--all the usual aids (find-replace, spell-check, style sheets, etc) worked fast and flawlessly.

Robert, Jacksonville, Fla.