menu-fonts not available as wysiwyg?

Have a problem? A question? This is the place for answers from other Express users.
erich

menu-fonts not available as wysiwyg?

Post by erich »

I am new to Express 2.5. I have been using Nisus Writer 5 until yesterday. How can I display a menu-font in WYSIWYG modus? This has been a difficult issue with old Nisus versions. Command-T (show fonts) is not very useful because the window is to big to leave it open all the time.

Thanks

Erich
MacSailor

Post by MacSailor »

As far as I know, it's not possible within NWE 2.5 yet. Hopefully it will be possible in a future version…

Maybe someone at Nisus Inc knows if and when it will be implemented?
Peter Edwardsson
Ryan

Post by Ryan »

A WYSIWYG font menu would be great (probably with a disable option in the Preferences). I would love to see this in NWE. I use the Show Fonts panel for in-depth font control, sometimes, but I just think the NWE menus and palettes are so well-designed and beautifully-integrated that I'd prefer them. I love that the Styles palette gives a WYSIWYG preview of what the style will look like.

Two workarounds:
You can make your new document template have individually-defined styles for all your common fonts you use. Then, the Styles palette becomes like a WYSIWYG font menu (well, sort of… okay, not really, but it's something).

Second, there are a few utilities, such as Unsanity's FontCard and You Software's you control: fonts. These theoretically let normal Cocoa and Carbon apps have better font menus. I've not tried either of these, and I don't even know if they work with NWE, but they're worth a shot.
martin
Official Nisus Person

Post by martin »

I'm happy to say that the next free Express update will include a WYSIWYG font menu. This feature will be a preference, so those who don't want it will be able to turn it off.
Ryan

Post by Ryan »

Wow. That's about as much as anyone could ask for!

Well, there's always world peace, but that's next on my list.