Newbie needs some help with macros

Get help using and writing Nisus Writer Pro macros.
Warren Rogers

Newbie needs some help with macros

Post by Warren Rogers »

Hello,
Here's my problem. I'm new to macro writing (and to the list!). I am in the middle of transferring several books from paperback to digital (I read them on my iPad). So, I'm wondering, is there a way to do three things? Obviously, to me at least, it would take at least three macros, right? Anyway, here they are:

1) remove all the carriage returns expect for the end-of-paragraph one which is always followed by a tab,

2) replace the double hyphen with the Nisus Em dash, and

3) a kind of Find and Replace for the words that the OCR changes, e.g., flxxx to some capital letter like Bxxx. The xxx is any word. The important thing is the change at the beginning of the word from two lower case letters to one upper case one.

These are the things I spend most of my time on. Could you help?

Thanks,

Warren Rogers
Groucho

Re: Newbie needs some help with macros

Post by Groucho »

Hello, Warren.

I’m sorry I don’t understand your point three. Can you post an example with some text before and after? As for the others, this macro will do the job. Note: I assumed that you wanted to substitute a space for a carriage return.

Code: Select all

Find and Replace "\n(?!\t)", " ", "aE"
Find and Replace "--", "—", “a”
If you simply want to eliminate any carriage return, change the first line as follows:

Code: Select all

Find and Replace "\n(?!\t)", "", "aE"
Greetings, Henry.
phspaelti

Post by phspaelti »

Hello Warren,
Warren Rogers wrote: Obviously, to me at least, it would take at least three macros, right?
And "obviously" you would be wrong :)
As Henry showed it's easy to make a single macro to do both 1 and 2. This macro combines two different Find and Replace actions. Note that you could do either of those two directly from the Find and Replace dialog without making a macro.

Now what about...