Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
just a short question linking to bug_report in beta forum 
Author Message

Joined: 2007-06-19 05:32:42
Posts: 5
http://www.nisus.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2315

martin answered, that this bug has something to do with the system typesetter and therefore cannot be fixed until apple does it,...
so my question: WHY does microsoft word (mac edition) don't show this behaviour?

mainly the bug that keeps me from completly switching to nisus!!


2007-07-04 08:24:05
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 2004-10-26 07:10:40
Posts: 174
Location: Tucson, AZ
Post 
Because Word uses its own text engine, and its own dictionary, and its own spellcheck system. NWP uses the Cocoa text-engine built into Mac OS X as its foundation, which allows it to inherent any upgrades with each OS upgrade. However, it also means that it inherents any bugs as well.

Martin can probably give you a more technically sound answer, but this is the gist of it...

Scott

_________________
MacBook Pro 15
2.66 Ghz Core i7
8GB RAM
10.8.3
NWP 2.0.4
iPad 3


2007-07-04 12:38:11
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 2003-09-30 21:33:58
Posts: 351
Image

Hey Mr. Whitlock,

time to change your sig file

_________________
I have never let my schooling interfere with my education/Mark Twain (1835-1910)


2007-07-04 13:00:36
Profile

Joined: 2007-06-19 05:32:42
Posts: 5
Post 
thx scott for filling me in,... was missing this piece of information
so there probably won't gonna be an update in near future :roll:
apple's keeping me waiting


2007-07-04 13:25:34
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 2007-04-12 04:01:46
Posts: 767
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post 
Nice catch on Mr Whitlock's signature line, Gem. :lol:

enC this factor has been a problem for Nisus -- and a lot of other Mac developers -- all along. It would be interesting to see whether the points on pages misbehave as they do in Nisus, or whether the Apple programmers have done a fix of their own to overcome this OS text engine limitation.

Cheers, Geoff

Geoffrey Heard, Business Writer & Publisher

"Type & Layout: Are you communicating or just making pretty shapes" -- Revealed! The secrets of how you can use type and layout to turbocharge your messages in print. See the book at http://www.worsleypress.com


2007-07-04 16:26:18
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: 2004-10-26 07:10:40
Posts: 174
Location: Tucson, AZ
Post 
Thanks, Gem... :D

_________________
MacBook Pro 15
2.66 Ghz Core i7
8GB RAM
10.8.3
NWP 2.0.4
iPad 3


2007-07-04 17:14:29
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 2003-09-30 21:33:58
Posts: 351
no problem

I just got to figure out how to get

NW-P 1.0, OSX 10.4.10 intel - 2 gig ram

in with my regular sig, which is the require 80 characters

because it helps a lot in interpreting questions if you know a person's system..


-----------------------------------------------
NW-P 1.0, OSX 10.4.10 intel - 2 gig ram

_________________
I have never let my schooling interfere with my education/Mark Twain (1835-1910)


2007-07-04 20:51:21
Profile

Joined: 2007-06-19 05:32:42
Posts: 5
Post 
greenmorpher wrote:
enC this factor has been a problem for Nisus -- and a lot of other Mac developers -- all along. It would be interesting to see whether the points on pages misbehave as they do in Nisus, or whether the Apple programmers have done a fix of their own to overcome this OS text engine limitation.


i just crossvalidated it in pages:
> it does NOT happen, so apple probably won't gonna fix this.

any chance nisus can make a tmp.fix on their own?


2007-07-05 02:17:37
Profile
Official Nisus Person
User avatar

Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Posts: 4251
Location: San Diego, CA
Post 
enC wrote:
i just crossvalidated it in pages:
> it does NOT happen, so apple probably won't gonna fix this.

Pages actually uses the same engine as Safari, which is different than the text engine that NWP and TextEdit make use of. So they'll have a different set of behaviors (and bugs).

Quote:
any chance nisus can make a tmp.fix on their own?

In this case, it's very unlikely. While sometimes we can work around a bug in Apple's text engine it all depends on what the bug is and how accessible that part of the engine is.


2007-07-05 13:46:57
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software