The purpose with Document Manager

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
greenjuice

The purpose with Document Manager

Post by greenjuice »

Hi,

I'm a beginner and before I bought a license to NWP I used regularly Mellel (but not at an advanced level). I have a question - what is the purpose with Document Manager, I still don't know how I should use Document Manager. I tried once but it saved files in another folder. Is Document Manager effective to use?

Jonas
scottwhitlock

Post by scottwhitlock »

Hello Jonas and welcome to the forum. I think you'll find Nisus Writer's interface much easier to use than Mellel's (and much more pleasurable). Mellel is a powerful word processor, but it has one hell of a learning curve. NWP is just as powerful, but as intuitive as the Mac itself and tends to work with you rather than against you.

First, when you save a document in Document Manager, it saves the file in the \Documents\Nisus Documents folder in your home directory.

Second, I was once like you as well, not really knowing how to incorporate Document Manager into my workflow. I once even stated that it was a "useless feature." Now, I couldn't live without it and it is one of my favorite features of NWP. So much so, I have set in the preferences for it to open when NWP opens, instead of the default new document.

Third, I use Document Manager as:

1. a place to hold aliases (shortcuts for you former Windows users) of all my documents that I'm currently working on. That way, I can easily open them when NWP starts and when I save them, they are saved in their original (and more permanent and logical) location (like a folder for the class whose lecture I'm working on) rather than in the physical Nisus Documents folder (although the alias remains there for easy opening).