Page 1 of 1

Add double cap option to QuickFix

Posted: 2008-01-18 11:39:01
by kcheney
The subject line says it all. Evidently I have a heavy finger on the shift key and it doesn't get off as quickly as it should. FOr example...

Posted: 2008-01-18 14:33:41
by martin
Unless you're really bored and want to enter in all possible words that you may double cap (eg: "FOr", "THe", "ALl", etc), this isn't possible. It is however filed as a feature request that we should add.

Posted: 2008-01-19 08:13:18
by Groucho
Here is a workaround.

Open Find/Replace.
Enable PowerFind Pro.
Uncheck Ignore Case.
In the Search box, type: \<A> Convert > To Capitalized.

But, mind, this changes uppercase words too (that is "CHAPTER FIRST" becomes "Chapter First"). If so, try to narrow the search by specifying the formatting.

Hope this helps. Henry.

Posted: 2008-01-20 14:28:41
by ssampler
I posted two related macros to do this at:
http://www.nisus.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... ight=#7826
Although I wrote them for NWX, they appear to work in NWP.

Posted: 2008-01-21 06:05:11
by Groucho
Oh my!

I didn't preview before posting, so html turned the text into a mess.
Below is the original:

Open Find/Replace.
Enable PowerFind Pro.
Uncheck Ignore Case.
In the Search box, type: \<[A-Z][A-Z]+
Click on Find All
Select Edit > Convert > To Capitalized.

Posted: 2008-01-24 01:01:12
by Groucho
ssampler wrote:I posted two related macros to do this at:
http://www.nisus.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... ight=#7826
Although I wrote them for NWX, they appear to work in NWP.
I tried your macro. As it is, the code skips all-caps words, such as TOGETHER or FRONT, and any two-character word, like TO and IF.
It should be corrected as follows:

In line No. 9, substitute:
[a-z]*
for:
[a-z]+

I hope this will help for now.

Henry.

Add double caps to QuickFix

Posted: 2008-01-24 10:07:02
by kcheney
Thanks for the macros.

For me, though, much of the typing I do is so short it doesn't seem that running a macro on each and every item is something I am going to do.

Probably I should focus on improving my typing! I remembered the "correct double caps" option from some program's prefs and just thought I'd mention it; now it's in the list of potential future additions to NWP.