Page 1 of 1

unable to use palettes for sections & columns

Posted: 2008-09-09 21:32:39
by kcheney
I want to begin a new section mid-page so that I can switch from one column to two. If I use the Insert>Section Break menu, I get a section break all right but the column palette is inoperative, number greyed out. If instead I open the Section Palette, to insert the break, that palette is also inoperative.

What am I missing here?

Re: unable to use palettes for sections & columns

Posted: 2008-09-10 02:36:04
by Groucho
I could not reproduce this. Both palettes work fine in my NWP. Maybe your insertion point lies in a footnote, of header, or footer while you are trying to set the columns. Maybe the file you are using went corrupted. Try with another file, or a fresh one from scratch. Also, the preference file may be corrupted. Try and trash it (Home:Library:Preferences:nisus.NisusWriter.plist), then restart NWP. Do not empty the trash can, so you can retrieve the file in case this proves not to be the cause of the trouble.

Cheers, Henry.

Re: unable to use palettes for sections & columns

Posted: 2008-09-10 09:09:32
by kcheney
Thanks, Henry.

I had tried doing this in a new doc, with no success (same behavior). I tried again today after reading your post, and when I inserted a Section Break and then tried to go to 2 columns in that section, Nisus crashed. I attach crash report for support folks.

Then I tried again, a new doc and paste my text in, insert Section Break and go to two columns. This time it has worked. A difference is that yesterday, after inserting the SB, the columns palette was not "live,", could not change the "1" to "2". Today it was functioning. So I am continuing warily, hoping that this was just one of those one-time anomalies of computers which one never finds out the reason for.

I am wondering if having cleared the font caches using Linotype's Font Explorer could have messed up Nisus, which was running at the time I cleared the caches. I am still experiencing font problems--some fonts won't work, even though FontExplorer is off.

Re: unable to use palettes for sections & columns

Posted: 2008-09-10 12:23:25
by Groucho
You had better run a maintenance utility, like Onyx (http://www.titanium.free.fr). It's free!

Henry.

Re: unable to use palettes for sections & columns

Posted: 2008-09-10 13:32:28
by kcheney
You had better run a maintenance utility, like Onyx (http://www.titanium.free.fr).
You're so right. I used to run Macaroni on my old iMac & hadn't gotten around to filling that position for the new MacBookP. I just downloaded Onyx & will use it immediately.