Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Problem with right tab in footer 
Author Message

Joined: 2012-06-23 02:17:52
Posts: 2
Hello,

I need a footer with a some left-aligned text (like chapter title) and on the right side (right-aligned) the page number.
So I found out that I have to set a right tab, no problem. The problem is that I want this tab to really be at the right margin. In the normal text area this works as I want it but if I place the right tab in the footer exactly at the right margin, the page number will end up a line lower instead.
What am I doing wrong?

Thank you!

Apuleius


2012-06-24 09:33:37
Profile

Joined: 2010-02-22 15:06:48
Posts: 98
Hi Apuleius,

I have exactly the same problem. I have no solution, but the work around (that I use anyway) is to move the right-align tab to the left very slightly so that it does not quite sit on the right margin but a fraction in. In most situations, you cannot tell that the page numbers (or whatever) are not quite right-aligned.

Josh


2012-06-26 06:37:04
Profile
Official Nisus Person
User avatar

Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Posts: 4251
Location: San Diego, CA
I just tried to reproduce the problem, but didn't have any luck- could either of you send me a document where the number in the header wraps to the next line unexpectedly? Thanks for your help.

Well, setting the tab ever so slightly to the left sounds like it would work (thanks for the idea Josh), but you shouldn't have to resort to that trick.


2012-06-26 14:12:52
Profile WWW

Joined: 2010-02-22 15:06:48
Posts: 98
Hi Martin, just sent in my file (it has happened on every file that I have created). Thanks, Josh


2012-06-26 15:21:45
Profile
Official Nisus Person
User avatar

Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Posts: 4251
Location: San Diego, CA
Thanks for the file Josh. You're always super quick and so helpful- we really appreciate that!

In looking at the file, it seems the font is a factor. For some reason Adobe Garamond triggers the problem. If you switch to Times, Tahoma, Palatino, Hiragino, etc, the problem does not reproduce. It seems Adobe Caslon also triggers the issues, so maybe there's something about Adobe's font metrics that are confusing the text engine. We'll have to investigate more to be sure.

Apuleius: what font are you using?


2012-06-26 15:34:33
Profile WWW

Joined: 2012-06-23 02:17:52
Posts: 2
Hi Martin,
I'm using Minion Pro. However I just tried again and this time everything is ok! I'm really perplexed, last time I really couldn't get it to work!


2012-06-27 22:14:14
Profile
Official Nisus Person
User avatar

Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Posts: 4251
Location: San Diego, CA
Thank you for the information Apuleius. I was able to reproduce the problem with "Minion Pro" too.

Interestingly I am no longer able to reproduce the issue with Adobe Garamond or Caslon! More investigation is clearly needed by us, thanks.


2012-06-28 15:34:21
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software