Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Multiple Searches in one selection 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Posts: 156
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Hello there nise people,

it would be nice, if I could search in one selection for different things one after another WITHOUT having to select the stuff again after each search.
Is this possible with a macro or in a future NWPRO version?

Best regards Matze


2013-03-23 03:45:03
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: 2007-02-07 00:58:12
Posts: 876
Location: Japan
Hello Matze
it certainly is possible to write macros that save and restore selections. But before going there, have you tried using the "Previous Selection" command. Does that not do what you want?

_________________
philip


2013-03-23 18:34:04
Profile

Joined: 2007-03-03 09:55:06
Posts: 494
Location: Europe
As far as I know, if you select some text and search “In Selection”, the engine will find all occurrences within the selection without any need to select again.

For example, try to select a portion of text, then activate Find/Replace. Click on “In Selection” from the “Where” pop-up menu. Enter some text in the “Find What” field. Click on “Find Next”. The search will run within the selection only.

Henry.


2013-03-24 00:48:32
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Posts: 156
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Philip, I never was aware of this command.
It does what I need, even if I have to switch from f/r-window to the document, choose the command and go back.
(In times of Mac OS X NWpro isn't the one and only program I use as NW was in Classic-times and I am far from mastering NWpro.)

Best, Matze


2013-03-24 01:08:55
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Posts: 156
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Groucho wrote:
As far as I know, if you select some text and search “In Selection”, the engine will find all occurrences within the selection without any need to select again.

For example, try to select a portion of text, then activate Find/Replace. Click on “In Selection” from the “Where” pop-up menu. Enter some text in the “Find What” field. Click on “Find Next”. The search will run within the selection only.

Henry.

Groucho, I know this. I want to find different stuff in one selection. First "this" than "that". The "previous-selection" command does it.


2013-03-24 01:16:19
Profile WWW
Official Nisus Person
User avatar

Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Posts: 4251
Location: San Diego, CA
You could also use PowerFind (or Pro) to search for both things at once, if you happen to know them both up front, eg:
Attachment:
screen.png
screen.png [ 13.82 KiB | Viewed 1998 times ]


The "Or" bubble can be inserted by using the gear icon button's popup menu in the "Match" submenu.


2013-07-02 12:08:13
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software