Multiple Searches in one selection

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
Post Reply
User avatar
Matze
Posts: 156
Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Contact:

Multiple Searches in one selection

Post by Matze » 2013-03-23 03:45:03

Hello there nise people,

it would be nice, if I could search in one selection for different things one after another WITHOUT having to select the stuff again after each search.
Is this possible with a macro or in a future NWPRO version?

Best regards Matze

User avatar
phspaelti
Posts: 894
Joined: 2007-02-07 00:58:12
Location: Japan

Re: Multiple Searches in one selection

Post by phspaelti » 2013-03-23 18:34:04

Hello Matze
it certainly is possible to write macros that save and restore selections. But before going there, have you tried using the "Previous Selection" command. Does that not do what you want?
philip

Groucho
Posts: 496
Joined: 2007-03-03 09:55:06
Location: Europe

Re: Multiple Searches in one selection

Post by Groucho » 2013-03-24 00:48:32

As far as I know, if you select some text and search “In Selection”, the engine will find all occurrences within the selection without any need to select again.

For example, try to select a portion of text, then activate Find/Replace. Click on “In Selection” from the “Where” pop-up menu. Enter some text in the “Find What” field. Click on “Find Next”. The search will run within the selection only.

Henry.

User avatar
Matze
Posts: 156
Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Contact:

Re: Multiple Searches in one selection

Post by Matze » 2013-03-24 01:08:55

Philip, I never was aware of this command.
It does what I need, even if I have to switch from f/r-window to the document, choose the command and go back.
(In times of Mac OS X NWpro isn't the one and only program I use as NW was in Classic-times and I am far from mastering NWpro.)

Best, Matze

User avatar
Matze
Posts: 156
Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Contact:

Re: Multiple Searches in one selection

Post by Matze » 2013-03-24 01:16:19

Groucho wrote:As far as I know, if you select some text and search “In Selection”, the engine will find all occurrences within the selection without any need to select again.

For example, try to select a portion of text, then activate Find/Replace. Click on “In Selection” from the “Where” pop-up menu. Enter some text in the “Find What” field. Click on “Find Next”. The search will run within the selection only.

Henry.
Groucho, I know this. I want to find different stuff in one selection. First "this" than "that". The "previous-selection" command does it.

User avatar
martin
Official Nisus Person
Posts: 4251
Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: Multiple Searches in one selection

Post by martin » 2013-07-02 12:08:13

You could also use PowerFind (or Pro) to search for both things at once, if you happen to know them both up front, eg:
screen.png
screen.png (13.82 KiB) Viewed 2292 times
The "Or" bubble can be inserted by using the gear icon button's popup menu in the "Match" submenu.

Post Reply