Feature request: Select search in f/r-window

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
Post Reply
User avatar
Matze
Posts: 170
Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Contact:

Feature request: Select search in f/r-window

Post by Matze » 2014-01-16 03:14:31

Hi Nisus team,

has anyone read this one?

Can we make the f/r window select the searchterm, when having searched for it? So that I can overwrite it with a new searchterm instantly?
BBEdit has this feature and I find it very handy.

Best regards Matze

User avatar
Matze
Posts: 170
Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Select search in f/r-window

Post by Matze » 2014-02-17 00:28:18

Anyone else, who considers this as a useful feature?

User avatar
phspaelti
Posts: 1038
Joined: 2007-02-07 00:58:12
Location: Japan

Re: Feature request: Select search in f/r-window

Post by phspaelti » 2014-02-17 00:57:30

I wasn't sure what you meant by this the first time you posted it. You mean that when that after clicking on "Find Next" or "Find All", and Nisus completes the find action, Nisus should select the find expression in the dialog box? (As far as I can tell it just leaves the cursor wherever it was… So that must be your point…)
[Indeed a quick test in Text Wrangler shows that the expression is selected after doing a find.]

I guess that might not be a bad idea.
philip

User avatar
Matze
Posts: 170
Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Select search in f/r-window

Post by Matze » 2014-02-17 23:31:17

phspaelti wrote:I wasn't sure what you meant by this the first time you posted it. You mean that when that after clicking on "Find Next" or "Find All", and Nisus completes the find action, Nisus should select the find expression in the dialog box? (As far as I can tell it just leaves the cursor wherever it was… So that must be your point…)
[Indeed a quick test in Text Wrangler shows that the expression is selected after doing a find.]

I guess that might not be a bad idea.
Yes, Philip, this is what I wanted to suggest: it would spare me the doubleclick/selecting in the dialog box and I could search happily ever after. ;-)

User avatar
Patrick J
Posts: 124
Joined: 2006-06-16 16:17:50
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Select search in f/r-window

Post by Patrick J » 2014-02-18 05:23:22

Matze wrote: Yes, Philip, this is what I wanted to suggest: it would spare me the doubleclick/selecting in the dialog box and I could search happily ever after. ;-)
Pressing tab twice will select the expression in the dialogue box.
Patrick

User avatar
Matze
Posts: 170
Joined: 2004-12-14 07:54:49
Location: Düsseldorf Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Select search in f/r-window

Post by Matze » 2014-02-21 03:27:16

This at least makes it a bit easier. But I'd prefer it to behave as BBEdit or textwrangler do.

Post Reply