Initials

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
Post Reply
User avatar
useeger
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004-06-28 00:03:01
Location: Germany

Initials

Post by useeger » 2015-09-16 03:55:39

Is there a way to create initial letters with Nisus?

Enclosed a snapshot how it should look like.

Thanks for help
Ulrich
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2015-09-16 um 13.50.59.png
Bildschirmfoto 2015-09-16 um 13.50.59.png (15.7 KiB) Viewed 3088 times

exegete77
Posts: 180
Joined: 2007-09-20 17:58:56

Re: Initials

Post by exegete77 » 2015-09-16 12:25:43

This thread might help you. Drop Caps style sheet

Be sure to look at the attachment that has drop caps style.
iMac 21.5” / MBP 13” Retina
Mac user since 1990

User avatar
useeger
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004-06-28 00:03:01
Location: Germany

Re: Initials

Post by useeger » 2015-09-16 21:40:52

No, does not help. My desired initial does not stand on the first line. I fear, the only way to accomplish that task is to insert the initials as graphics, what is a little bit complicated (I have 20 chapters which should each beginn with initials).

But anyway, thanks for thinking about my problem

Þorvarður
Posts: 248
Joined: 2012-12-19 05:02:52

Re: Initials

Post by Þorvarður » 2015-09-17 06:01:14

useeger wrote:I fear, the only way to accomplish that task is to insert the initials as graphics
Have you tried text boxes?
Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 15.48.08.png
Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 15.48.08.png (55.48 KiB) Viewed 3029 times
Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 15.48.33.png
Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 15.48.33.png (31.13 KiB) Viewed 3029 times

User avatar
useeger
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004-06-28 00:03:01
Location: Germany

Re: Initials

Post by useeger » 2015-09-17 06:20:37

Oh, nice idea! Didn't try it. Seems to be a little bit tricky with the spacing of the lines (in your example line 4 has an additional space, what is not wanted).

I made it now by inserting graphics of the big letters. It worked fine and it wasn't as complicated as I feared.

Enclosed an example how it looks like now

Thanks for help
Ulrich

btw: of course Nisus is only a word processer and not a layout program. but I have no layout program and I don't know how these programs work. so I make everything with Nisus.
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2015-09-17 um 16.15.49.png
Bildschirmfoto 2015-09-17 um 16.15.49.png (16.58 KiB) Viewed 3025 times

Þorvarður
Posts: 248
Joined: 2012-12-19 05:02:52

Re: Initials

Post by Þorvarður » 2015-09-17 07:37:16

You can use the Shape Metrics palette to tweak the size and determine where the shapes appear on the page.
Shape Metrics palette.png
Shape Metrics palette.png (26.21 KiB) Viewed 3014 times
I think line 4 has now the same space:
a.png
a.png (56.6 KiB) Viewed 3014 times
b.png
b.png (61.5 KiB) Viewed 3014 times

User avatar
useeger
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004-06-28 00:03:01
Location: Germany

Re: Initials

Post by useeger » 2015-09-17 11:14:32

Very nice, never saw before "shape metrics". One never stops learning.

But now line 5 should also have the same space, then it is perfect.

Þorvarður
Posts: 248
Joined: 2012-12-19 05:02:52

Re: Initials

Post by Þorvarður » 2015-09-17 12:35:36

useeger wrote:But now line 5 should also have the same space, then it is perfect.
This was done deliberately, because my "Lorem Ipsum" text shows the first two paragraphs of the novella Heart of Darkness by Józef Teodor Nałęcz Konrad Korzeniowski, better known as Joseph Conrad. The 5th line is the second paragraph of the story; therefore the additional space.

If you give me your first 4 lines, then I can see whether this is possible. It is also important to know how big you want the "S" to be.
S.png
S.png (17.19 KiB) Viewed 3000 times
The screenshots you provided are not very helpful. They just indicate that you want Drop Caps.

User avatar
useeger
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004-06-28 00:03:01
Location: Germany

Re: Initials

Post by useeger » 2015-09-17 13:47:45

I think, there does not exist a printed edition of Joseph Conrad with additional space before paragraphs. In print a new paragraph is marked by indentation, not by additional space.

I prefer 3 lines for the height of the initials, but that's not important, others may make 4,5,6 ... lines. Enclosed an example how it should look like, I hope it's clearer now. I am sorry for my lack of clarity.

If the first paragraph of a chapter is very short (in my case less than 4 lines), these initials make some additional problems. Therefore I avoided the paragraphs which are in the original text in my example .
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2015-09-17 um 23.29.jpg
Bildschirmfoto 2015-09-17 um 23.29.jpg (96.73 KiB) Viewed 2995 times

Þorvarður
Posts: 248
Joined: 2012-12-19 05:02:52

Re: Initials

Post by Þorvarður » 2015-09-18 06:58:30

useeger wrote:I think, there does not exist a printed edition of Joseph Conrad with additional space before paragraphs. In print a new paragraph is marked by indentation, not by additional space.
Hi Ulrich,

I checked my printed edition, and I think you may be quite right. Thanks for pointing this out. I guess I will have to reformat my whole Lorem Ipsum Glossary-text now. :lol:

As far as I can see, your example looks perfect now.

If you inserted the "S" as graphic, then check out how it looks on printed paper before you change your (whole) document. I remember, when I inserted graphics in my texts, they often looked blurred compared to the actual text. Maybe it was just an issue with my HP Officejet 5600 printer, I don't know. I haven't had the need to print out anything for a long time.

User avatar
useeger
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004-06-28 00:03:01
Location: Germany

Re: Initials

Post by useeger » 2015-09-18 07:11:21

Today I learned, that the English name of these "initials" is indeed Drop Caps (as you wrote). Didn't know that word before.

Yes, I made it as graphic. I wrote the desired capitals in a Nisus doc with 55 point and saved it as PDF. Then opened the pdf with GraphicConverter in 300 dpi, cut out a letter and saved it as jpeg. It should have now 300 dpi what is sufficient for my purposes. But you are right, I should make a test before and will make it.

greetings from Germany
Ulrich

Bendrus
Posts: 7
Joined: 2011-09-01 08:09:52

Re: Initials [drop-caps]

Post by Bendrus » 2015-09-19 10:21:09

Yes, I made it as graphic. I wrote the desired capitals in a Nisus doc with 55 point and saved it as PDF. Then opened the pdf with GraphicConverter in 300 dpi, cut out a letter and saved it as jpeg. It should have now 300 dpi what is sufficient for my purposes. But you are right, I should make a test before and will make it.


Ulrich, looks like you achieved a satisfactory resolution. But to optimize file size and quality, keep the drop-cap as a "live" character (drawing upon the font rather than freezing pixels in a raster image).

I'm still back on OS 10.4.11 and Nisus Pro 1.3 but I can achieve such a text-block by copying in a graphic from AppleWorks Drawing, or from a iWork Pages element, or by setting a small page size with zero margins and print preview and save the resulting .pdf file to insert into the Nisus document. I expect that with NWP 2 you could create a text block or object directly and use it as the graphic.

Of course if one wants the full text to stay in tact (for screen readers & searching), a very inelegant solution to extend Martin's solution to actually drop down into the paragraph would be to make the first (drop-cap) character a sub-script format with increased descent distance as needed and then insert an option-return and tabs or spaces to push the subsequent lines of text to the right, out from under the drop-cap. Tweak the descent, font size, and tab stops/spaces.

All the Best,
Ben Andrus in Montana

User avatar
useeger
Posts: 72
Joined: 2004-06-28 00:03:01
Location: Germany

Re: Initials

Post by useeger » 2015-09-20 00:13:44

Hello Ben,

thanks for your suggestions. Of course it would be better to maintain "live" letters.

I tried to insert the initials not as jpeg but directly as pdf. The result was, that Nisus does not treat them as graphics but as normal text letters.

Your second proposal is also not practicable because adding option-return destroys justification (the right alignment).

In the meanwhile I made printing tests with my 300 dpi jpeg graphics of the drop caps ... and it looks perfect. So my problem is solved and it wasn't really a lot of work.

all the best
Ulrich

Post Reply