Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
InfoClick and habit 
Author Message

Joined: 2007-09-20 17:58:56
Posts: 179
InfoClick is a fantastic application. But... sometimes habits die hard.

Having used InfoClick inconsistently for a while :? , I finally have realized why. My habit has always been to search using the Mail search feature. It had become so ingrained as a habit that when I got InfoClick, I unconsciously used Mail to search because of the habit. Later I would think: why didn’t I use InfoClick? I would go back and try it again, and found it easier. But the habit was hard to break.

It is a little strange because when I get other software my habits of using it change to match the software. In this case, Mail has been my only email program since switching to OS X in 2002.

Finally this past week I have broken the habit. Now InfoClick Is my first choice for searching... Duh :oops: . It only took two months of “Oh, wait, I could have used InfoClick.” But I am free! I have made the transition to InfoClick (completely!!)

8)

_________________
iMac 21.5” / MBP 13” Retina
Mac user since 1990


2013-04-03 12:24:49
Profile

Joined: 2006-12-08 00:46:44
Posts: 417
Location: London or Exeter, UK
exegete77 wrote:
Finally this past week I have broken the habit. Now InfoClick Is my first choice for searching... Duh :oops: . It only took two months of “Oh, wait, I could have used InfoClick.” But I am free! I have made the transition to InfoClick (completely!!)

8)

How I envy you. I wish I could use InfoClick, but when I moved to OS-X, for coding reasons with Chinese, Mail didn't cut the mustard and I found GyazMail, which I've used ever since. Like you, GyazMail is a habit for me ... I'm comfortable with the way it does things, and there are some things that it does that Mail can't. So, with each new version of Mail released by Apple, I've tried it out, but it's only taken a couple of weeks before I've moved back to GyazMail. There are two things about GyazMail that really do it for me:

1) The "Rules" and "Filters" system and the fact that you can go directly to the mail-box on the server. I guess with the Rules, it's just that I feel more at home with the interface; the Filters work on the server, allowing you to set up filters so that, for instance, you can define categories of spam mail that will be deleted on the server without ever being downloaded.

2) GyazMail allows me to access my Gmail account as POP-3 rather than IMAP. This is important to me. I only have a Gmail account for historical reasons going back about 10 years, when that was the only way I could send emails from here in China to mailboxes abroad, without them being returned by the recipient server simply because of originating from spam and virus-ridden system here. I don't really use it now, but for many years my students used that address as then, when they sent me work, there would always be a copy on the Gmail server. So, if I use Mail, and I include the Gmail account — which some people still send mails to — it will only connect as IMAP, so it then spends long hours downloading and cluttering up my hard drive with several thousand mails that I don't need to access; or else, I don't set up Mail to log into Gmail and can't get at any that arrive there without using a browser. With GyazMail, any new mail arriving in the Gmail account is simply downloaded like those on my other POP-3 accounts, and I only have to deal with them.

So, no Mail.app for me, no InfoClick ... until Martin and Co. add GyazMail to the email applications it can index ... please, please, please! :)

Mark


2013-04-03 18:17:58
Profile
Official Nisus Person
User avatar

Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Posts: 4251
Location: San Diego, CA
We love to hear InfoClick is fulfilling such a role for you exegete! Your experience is actually similar to my own, in that I initially would use InfoClick inconsistently, often still messing about with Mail's own inferior search. There's so many times it doesn't produce the matches I'd expect, on even simple searches. There's really no substitute for the detailed information InfoClick provides so exactly.

One tip that might save some time for you: InfoClick adds a command (Find Email Using InfoClick) to the services menu in Apple Mail that merely opens the InfoClick search window. You can use OSX to assign this a keyboard shortcut, so it's fast to jump straight to InfoClick.


2013-06-14 16:55:49
Profile WWW

Joined: 2007-09-20 17:58:56
Posts: 179
martin wrote:

One tip that might save some time for you: InfoClick adds a command (Find Email Using InfoClick) to the services menu in Apple Mail that merely opens the InfoClick search window. You can use OSX to assign this a keyboard shortcut, so it's fast to jump straight to InfoClick.

Wasn’t aware of that, but that is very handy. Thanks

_________________
iMac 21.5” / MBP 13” Retina
Mac user since 1990


2013-06-15 19:50:03
Profile

Joined: 2014-09-26 10:28:58
Posts: 4
Thank you exegete77! As a new user I am trying to make it a habit and you tip is a big time saver!! :)


2014-09-26 10:54:00
Profile

Joined: 2014-09-26 10:28:58
Posts: 4
Hey exegete77 - again thanks for the tip - trying to implement. Tried Option-F and it would not work - I got a strange sound meaning it won't work. (don't know who to describe it but it sounds off when I try a key that an app doesn't like) he normal command F but that always takes me to a new search window on the top of an open message. Then even knowing that Command-F opens a search dialog window in the selected email I tried to use it without selecting an email.
No go. Frustrated. Can't get any combo to work. Have tried quitting both programs and restarting but no go. Mouse up in Services (it shows my key combination), select it, and up pops infoclick! But I sure as heck will not be mousing every time to search.

So come on exegete77 will you tell us the secret to getting the key shortcut to work?


2014-09-26 11:49:44
Profile

Joined: 2014-09-26 10:28:58
Posts: 4
Hi again exegete77 If they post my previous questions please ignore - for some unknown reason Option-F is now working just fine!

Don't have any idea why it took so long (or what I may have inertantly done to trigger it) but most importantly - IT WORKS! :) :) :)
So once more thank you for the tip!!!!


2014-09-26 13:25:44
Profile

Joined: 2007-09-20 17:58:56
Posts: 179
johnwd3 wrote:
Hi again exegete77 If they post my previous questions please ignore - for some unknown reason Option-F is now working just fine!

Don't have any idea why it took so long (or what I may have inertantly done to trigger it) but most importantly - IT WORKS! :) :) :)
So once more thank you for the tip!!!!


Glad you found the solution. :)

_________________
iMac 21.5” / MBP 13” Retina
Mac user since 1990


2014-09-26 20:54:50
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software