Impressions, InDesign and NWE

Have a problem? A question? This is the place for answers from other Express users.
Peder

Impressions, InDesign and NWE

Post by Peder »

First of all, thanks for NWE; I may have found my replacement for--ageing--Word 5.1, which, twice emulated under OS X on a Ti PowerBook, was getting a little fragile. The Style Sheets are great, albeit a little quirky--something to get used to.

I was able to import my standard Styles from Word, and after I had eliminated the dreaded Times, 14 pt, which inexplicably overlayed the whole thing, they work the way I want them to--in NWE.

My problem is with InDesign--not a big one, but irritatingly short of perfection. I work as an translator/editor/book designer/typesetter, and an important aspect of doing the job effectively is having standardised Styles, i.e. names of Styles, across the board. That means I do my basic formatting in the word processor, set my variables for the book in the page layout programme, and when I place the text, the Styles in InDesign override the Styles with the same name in the word processor, and I have the correct typeface, size, leading, pagebreaks, chapter headings, space above, &c, &c, automatically.

I have based all Styles in NWE on a basic Style ("Normal"), so that I can change the typeface, &c, of the entire document with one setting change, and this works well in NWE. This is also the way ID is set up.