selecting a specific style and changing it

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
jrmitchell

selecting a specific style and changing it

Post by jrmitchell »

I have an rtf document created by a 1989 PC application. It strucutres a report from the application which in my example has 300 entries. When I open the doc in NWP it does not recognise any styles, but say "Heading 2" is 12pt Arial Narrow, Bold Italic Underlined.
The next line is 10pt, same font but not underlined. Etc
I want to process all 300 entries and set a style and modify the source settings.
I have looked at the macro language and I presume the answer is in there.
I use Applescript a lot so can apply that but its not enough. I'm not good at regex which also might do it?
Here is an example of the text:

42 Facility
General attributes
Object kind: Entity
Notes: A complex of assets above and below ground comprising Buildings, Site Infrastructure(Siteworks and Site Services) which represents a single management unit for financial, operational, maintenance or other purposes.

Source: based on NPWC
Name space:
Value/Range:

Can anyone suggest an approach or give me an example I can customise?
TIA
martin
Official Nisus Person

Re: selecting a specific style and changing it

Post by martin »

It's likely some kind of find & replace operations and/or macro commands can do the job for you. But without knowing exactly what you want, it's hard to advise.
I want to process all 300 entries and set a style and modify the source settings.
So you want to apply paragraph styles to all paragraphs that show similar information? For example, you gave:
Object kind: Entity
Formatting the paragraphs that always begin with the same prefix (eg: "Object kind:") is quite easy. Just set the Find mode to PowerFind Pro and use this search pattern:

Code: Select all

Object kind:.+