Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
How to make Macros? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: 2009-05-21 11:53:23
Posts: 158
Location: Midway through infinity (or Ottawa, Canada).
Hi all!

I've no idea how to programme Macros, and I only know that they're basically used as hyper-links within a document. (Right?) I would like to know how to programme Macros, as I could not find a thorough tutorial within the forum.

I've attached a document (01 Diabetes.doc —why can't I upload it as .rtf?). There's a small word that says '¿Español?' in the upper right corner. I want that word to link with 'Dia•be•tes me•lli•tus s.' that is on the following page.

I'd really appreciate any help given, as this is a pretty important project. And I only use Nisus to write.

Another question: When saved as a PDF, will the links remain functional?

Thanks!

D.


Attachments:
01 Diabetes mellitus (ENG)(ESP).doc [24.74 KiB]
Downloaded 211 times

_________________
Translation for you:

http://paralleltranslations.ca/translation/
2010-05-02 12:54:12
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 2007-02-07 00:58:12
Posts: 876
Location: Japan
Actually, no. This is not what macros are at all. A macro is the ability to combine simple commands into a larger, complex command.

What you are looking for is the ability to create a link within a document and this is unfortunately something that Nisus can't do. Nisus allows the following:
- to create hyperlinks to webaddresses and other documents. These links remain when saved as pdf.
- to create bookmarks to specific locations in your document. Such 'links' have to be chosen from the bookmark menu or the navigator.

_________________
philip


2010-05-03 05:49:17
Profile
Official Nisus Person
User avatar

Joined: 2003-02-11 10:49:05
Posts: 428
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Actually, Nisus Writer Pro is a bit more capable than phspaelti suggests.

If you add a bookmark to your document and then insert a cross-reference to that bookmark you can jump to the bookmarked text by double-clicking the cross-reference. This is explained in the User's Guide.

I hope that helps.

_________________
Write On!
Mark Hurvitz
Nisus Software Inc.


2010-05-03 09:49:00
Profile ICQ
User avatar

Joined: 2007-01-17 03:25:42
Posts: 729
Cross referencing does not allow to display the user's intended text, in this case "¿Español?", because "below" cannot be edited to display something other than itself.
Also, if "Dia•be•tes me•lli•tus s" is bookmarked as "¿Español?", only the bookmarked text can be displayed when a cross reference is inserted at "¿Español?" and not the bookmark as text. Hence "¿Español?" in the text is replaced by "Dia•be•tes me•lli•tus s".


Attachments:
01 Diabetes mellitus (ENG)(ESP).rtf.zip [4.44 KiB]
Downloaded 214 times
2010-05-04 03:39:08
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 2009-05-21 11:53:23
Posts: 158
Location: Midway through infinity (or Ottawa, Canada).
rmark wrote:
Actually, Nisus Writer Pro is a bit more capable than phspaelti suggests.

If you add a bookmark to your document and then insert a cross-reference to that bookmark you can jump to the bookmarked text by double-clicking the cross-reference. This is explained in the User's Guide.

I hope that helps.


OK, I think I got it. It'd be useful to have a feature like this in the coming updates. I'm willing to pay you if you release it tomorrow :P (just kidding, I'm sure it's pretty difficult to programme something like this.)

_________________
Translation for you:

http://paralleltranslations.ca/translation/


2010-05-04 18:30:59
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 2007-02-07 00:58:12
Posts: 876
Location: Japan
rmark wrote:
Actually, Nisus Writer Pro is a bit more capable than phspaelti suggests.

If you add a bookmark to your document and then insert a cross-reference to that bookmark you can jump to the bookmarked text by double-clicking the cross-reference. This is explained in the User's Guide.

I hope that helps.


My apologies for selling Nisus Writer Pro short, and thanks for setting me straight. I actually should have realized that this is possible, since it is used all over the macro reference guide (which I open just about every other day :) )

Here is a question: is it possible to get such automatic links -- particularly the table of contents -- to transfer to a pdf? "Save as pdf" does not work, but maybe with the paid version of Acrobat, or some other pdf creation program? Obviously I would want this to be automatic. I don't want to have to recreate the table of contents in Acrobat.

_________________
philip


2010-05-06 00:48:00
Profile
Official Nisus Person
User avatar

Joined: 2003-02-11 10:49:05
Posts: 428
Location: Solana Beach, CA
phspaelti wrote:
Quote:
is it possible to get such automatic links -- particularly the table of contents -- to transfer to a pdf?

That's a great idea. We'll look into it for a future version. It's not that we want to put Adobe out of business, but avoiding one more step for our users would be nice.

_________________
Write On!
Mark Hurvitz
Nisus Software Inc.


2010-05-11 06:37:08
Profile ICQ

Joined: 2003-11-21 19:25:28
Posts: 333
Location: Sydney, Australia
rmark wrote:
It's not that we want to put Adobe out of business, but avoiding one more step for our users would be nice.

Why not? It seems to be all the rage at the moment...


2010-05-12 17:47:52
Profile

Joined: 2006-12-08 00:46:44
Posts: 417
Location: London or Exeter, UK
dshan wrote:
rmark wrote:
It's not that we want to put Adobe out of business, but avoiding one more step for our users would be nice.

Why not? It seems to be all the rage at the moment...

Yeah ... I just investigated getting an educational version of CS5 Design Standard here in China ... they wanted USD 650 for what is USD 299 in the States. Any company that does that kind of thing is asking to be stamped on!

Mark


2010-05-13 04:45:35
Profile

Joined: 2010-08-09 14:14:14
Posts: 6
xiamenese wrote:
Yeah ... I just investigated getting an educational version of CS5 Design Standard here in China ... they wanted USD 650 for what is USD 299 in the States. Any company that does that kind of thing is asking to be stamped on!

Mark


And yet you still use a Mac? Why is that? If Adobe is evil for the pricing of their products IN CHINA, then Apple is even more evil as they build Macs in China and charge outrageous prices. Don't tell me that the pricing is better on Apple than on Adobe, it's not.

Did it ever occur to you that the Chinese Gov may be to blame for this? Oh sorry, I had forgotten that Mac Users love the Chicomms.

http://blogs.wsj.com/chinarealtime/2009 ... na-prices/
http://www.dailyfinance.com/story/compa ... /19216550/

not only are the prices high, but features are missing.

Walk the walk.


2010-08-09 14:41:40
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software