working with outlines

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
Post Reply
Simi Chavel
Posts: 7
Joined: 2004-02-11 23:58:21

working with outlines

Post by Simi Chavel » 2018-10-23 20:56:51

NWP 3.0. User since 1993.
Trying out outline feature for the first time. Is it possible to collapse (and re-expand) subordinate elements within an outline unit? Relatedly, am I able to move an entire unit (principal element + subordinate elements) just by moving the principal?
TIA

ptram
Posts: 280
Joined: 2007-10-21 14:59:09

Re: working with outlines

Post by ptram » 2018-10-24 02:05:04

In the Navigator pane, with the ToC shown, I can both expand/collapse the various levels, and drag the lower levels together with the parent ones.

Paolo

martin
Official Nisus Person
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: working with outlines

Post by martin » 2018-10-24 10:43:47

Simi Chavel wrote:
2018-10-23 20:56:51
Is it possible to collapse (and re-expand) subordinate elements within an outline unit?
This is possible if you hold down the Option key when you click a TOC entry in the Navigator sidebar. The Option key will force all nested subordinate TOC entries to also expand (or collapse).
Relatedly, am I able to move an entire unit (principal element + subordinate elements) just by moving the principal?
As Paolo said, this is possible if you drag-drop a TOC entry in the Navigator sidebar. The corresponding content in the main document will be rearranged to match the drag operation, including any subordinate TOC entries.

Simi Chavel
Posts: 7
Joined: 2004-02-11 23:58:21

Re: working with outlines

Post by Simi Chavel » 2018-10-24 20:35:27

Thanks so much. Does this mean, if I insert List / Outline, I must make all the levels TOC items in order to collapse and expand them? Is it not possible to do that directly on the List / Outline levels and items? Yours, SBC

martin
Official Nisus Person
Posts: 4586
Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: working with outlines

Post by martin » 2018-10-25 16:03:32

Yes, your text and/or list items do need to be marked for TOC inclusion to appear in the Navigator sidebar. However, you can consistently enforce this using a paragraph style. I recommend that you create a paragraph style that enforces both the desired list style and TOC inclusion. That way you can just apply this new paragraph style to your document text. I hope that helps.

Simi Chavel
Posts: 7
Joined: 2004-02-11 23:58:21

Re: working with outlines

Post by Simi Chavel » 2018-10-28 10:02:20

Yes. Thanks! (I have not made new paragraph styles in years.)

Post Reply