Cycle Languages

Get help using and writing Nisus Writer Pro macros.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jester
Posts: 158
Joined: 2009-05-21 11:53:23
Location: Midway through infinity (or Ottawa, Canada).

Cycle Languages

Post by Jester » 2011-03-03 08:25:42

Hej!

So I just installed this new Macro, but I don't really understand the point. Is it possible to switch between languages without having to go to Macro window and selecting it?

Thanks!

User avatar
martin
Official Nisus Person
Posts: 4261
Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by martin » 2011-03-03 11:23:12

Only in the usual ways, eg: assign the macro a keyboard shortcut, make a toolbar button out of it, etc.

User avatar
Jester
Posts: 158
Joined: 2009-05-21 11:53:23
Location: Midway through infinity (or Ottawa, Canada).

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by Jester » 2011-03-03 19:16:11

How can I assign it a keyboard shortcut?

User avatar
Hamid
Posts: 732
Joined: 2007-01-17 03:25:42

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by Hamid » 2011-03-03 21:57:17

In NWP Preferences>Menu Keys.

User avatar
Jester
Posts: 158
Joined: 2009-05-21 11:53:23
Location: Midway through infinity (or Ottawa, Canada).

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by Jester » 2011-03-07 06:36:29

Thanks!

User avatar
Jester
Posts: 158
Joined: 2009-05-21 11:53:23
Location: Midway through infinity (or Ottawa, Canada).

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by Jester » 2011-03-08 07:46:00

Hmm sorry, it didn't seem to work. So I just click on the buttons?

User avatar
Hamid
Posts: 732
Joined: 2007-01-17 03:25:42

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by Hamid » 2011-03-08 09:09:23

Place the cursor in the textbox.
Enter the desired shortcut letter(s) and modifier keys by using the keyboard.
Click the Set button with the mouse.
Close the Preferences>Menu Keys pane clicking the Close box (and not by pressing Command-w).
SetMacroMenuShortcut.png
SetMacroMenuShortcut.png (15.05 KiB) Viewed 6735 times

User avatar
martin
Official Nisus Person
Posts: 4261
Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by martin » 2011-03-08 09:09:41

Once you're in the "Menu Keys" preference pane, you'll want to:

1. Choose the menu's path from the list/columns.
2. Make sure you have the final item in path selected (eg: the menu's actual title).
3. Click into the white command box (to the right of the list/columns).
4. Press the keyboard shortcut all at once (just like you regularly would inside the application to trigger a menu), eg: Command + Shift + "O".
5. Click the "Set" button.

When you're done setting all your shortcuts, you'll want to close the menu key preferences (with your mouse, because otherwise Command + "W" would be recorded by the command box). Your new shortcuts should work just like regular ones.

I hope that helps.

User avatar
martin
Official Nisus Person
Posts: 4261
Joined: 2002-07-11 17:14:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by martin » 2011-03-08 09:10:10

Ah, Hamid has got it too- thanks Hamid!

User avatar
Hamid
Posts: 732
Joined: 2007-01-17 03:25:42

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by Hamid » 2011-03-08 09:14:03

That was synchronised posting!

User avatar
Jester
Posts: 158
Joined: 2009-05-21 11:53:23
Location: Midway through infinity (or Ottawa, Canada).

Re: Cycle Languages

Post by Jester » 2011-03-09 08:23:36

Indeed, synchronised posting!

Thanks a lot, I didn't know that you could type in the commands.

Post Reply