Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Everything related to our flagship word processor.
Post Reply
lindas2013
Posts: 27
Joined: 2013-11-18 07:40:52

Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Post by lindas2013 » 2014-12-06 09:36:54

Let's say I have a document with Arial and Times used throughout, here and there, not applied with a style, just random places.

Let's say I want to find every or any place where Arial is used and replace it with Courier. Not changing the text, just from Arial to Courier.

How would I do that?? :?

(sorry if it's an elementary question!) Thanks for help!

ptram
Posts: 274
Joined: 2007-10-21 14:59:09

Re: Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Post by ptram » 2014-12-06 15:31:02

I would move the insertion point inside a word in Arial, choose Select All from the Font/Character Attribute menu in the lower right corner of the document window, and when all the text in Arial is selected I would replace the font to Courier.

Paolo

lindas2013
Posts: 27
Joined: 2013-11-18 07:40:52

Re: Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Post by lindas2013 » 2014-12-07 08:40:22

I'm not really following that.

Let's say you have hundreds of spots where you want to replace the font?

I am thinking of user the Find and Replace dialog box.

Find Arial, Replace with Courier.

I can do a search for AnyText with the Arial font. But I can't figure out what to put in the Replace box. If I just put Courier as the attribute, then it deletes the text/words.

The Replace box does not have a "AnyText" option.

Does anyone follow what I mean?
Maybe it just can't be done?

jb
Posts: 89
Joined: 2007-11-09 15:27:25

Re: Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Post by jb » 2014-12-07 14:13:28

Using Find/Replace:

In the Find panel put: “AnyText”
Apply Arial to “AnyText”
You will see that “Attribute Sensitive” gets checked


In the Replace panel put: “Found” (via “Match” in dropdown menu from the cog wheel)
Apply Courier to "Found"
You will see that “Replace Attributes” gets checked

Then click on “Replace All”


I hope this helps.

ptram
Posts: 274
Joined: 2007-10-21 14:59:09

Re: Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Post by ptram » 2014-12-07 17:28:47

Yes, but I would say my solution is easier and faster.

Paolo

lindas2013
Posts: 27
Joined: 2013-11-18 07:40:52

Re: Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Post by lindas2013 » 2014-12-07 20:48:31

Thank you both for those posts! They were both very helpful.

They both "kind of" work. I did figure out how to do both ways.

Paolo your method is a bit more limited. When you choose Select All for the font from down in the corner. Nisus searches for all Arial, but ignores if it is a different size, or bold, or with italics.

jb, the Find and Replace is also built the same way, but if you wanted all Arial, with different sizes and you knew the sizes, you could search for all the different sizes by using the FontBook box that opens. The best part about the Find and Replace, is that you can assign the new attribute automatically.

Thank you both, because I was stuck and this at least gets me going again.

jb
Posts: 89
Joined: 2007-11-09 15:27:25

Re: Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Post by jb » 2014-12-08 05:32:36

You might be interested in the Select by Font macro now included in NWP macros under Macro>Find

Þorvarður
Posts: 251
Joined: 2012-12-19 05:02:52

Re: Can anyone tell me how to Find and Replace a Font?

Post by Þorvarður » 2014-12-08 16:26:22

lindas2013 wrote: When you choose Select All for the font from down in the corner. Nisus searches for all Arial, but ignores if it is a different size, or bold, or with italics.
This must to be a misunderstanding. Choosing "Select All" will only select a font with the same character attributes.

The text in the following screenshot is in Arial. Place the cursor somewhere, not in italics or the different size though, and everything will be selected *except* italics and the different size. However, if you place the cursor where italics is, then only the same font in plain italics will be selected, not text in bold and italics. The same applies to different size.
Attachments
Arial Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 01.00.34.png
Arial Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 01.00.34.png (43.18 KiB) Viewed 2738 times

Post Reply